Thoughts From Inside The Bubble

August 24, 2010

I’m sitting in my Grandparents sunroom, watching the water, sipping coffee and letting thoughts drift in and out of my mind, letting them run and see where they end up.  I watch the ebb and flow of the water and let my mind mimic that. Sometimes this ends badly and I end up questioning everything and drive myself completely mad/end up crying, but sometimes it’s pleasant, relaxing and interesting!

I haven’t been into town for a about a week now, no internet, no car, just me, my thoughts and many many blackberries for me to pick. Often I go for a meandering walk down to the abandoned train tracks that sit out over the water. I sit and watch the fish jump and eat Blackberries I’ve picked on my way there. I sit for hours, just being still and trying to soak in as much as I can, trying to enjoy the moment that I am in, not worry about tomorrow, or next year, just enjoy what’s in front of me right now, because in the end, isn’t that really all you have?

Before I left to go on my travels I kept thinking, “I’ll be happy once I get to America, I’ll be happy once I get to France” and so on. I didn’t realise quite how unhealthy this was until I had an interesting conversation with a good friend. He had observed another friend of ours who was miserable in his life, miserable about every aspect, and just yearning for the day that he could go away on his travels. In his mind he was only going to be happy once his travels had begun. My friend put it simply and said, “how the fuck does he know that being in London is going to make him happy? Shouldn’t we all be making the best of what is right here in front of us?”

Aha!

Total lightbulb moment!

So my darlings, make the most of now, you may have future plans to look forward to, but remember to enjoy now, life is short, time is speeding up, like, really speeding up.

Perhaps we should be wearing protective goggles?

Jecca xx

3 Responses to “Thoughts From Inside The Bubble”


  1. Sounds like you are being super mindful & healthy in every way J! I’m having some timeout at home too… good stuff! x

  2. Jasper Says:

    too right.

    lovies.

    xxxxxxxxx

  3. Rere Says:

    Some very true words here miss JECCA!
    I think you may have nailed one of life’s biggest lessons n something we humans do every day, constantly, obsessively! : Think things will be better if….

    Good but tricky at the same time when you realise it’s all up to you not your geography innit!

    X O X O


Leave a Reply

